Does CVS Sell Drinking Alcohol? (See by State)

CVS sells different types of wines, spirits, beers, and more. However, not all CVS stores sell alcoholic beverages. Those that do have to follow their local state guidelines on the permitted sale times, days, and more.

To learn more about the policies regarding selling alcohol in different CVS stores, the applicable age limits, the types of alcohol available at CVS, and more, continue reading.

CVS Sell Alcohol

What Time Does CVS Sell Alcohol?

Different CVS stores sell alcohol according to the applicable state laws. In some states, you may buy alcohol at a CVS store during regular business hours. However, some states restrict the times you can sell or buy alcohol.

Below is a table showing when you can purchase alcohol at CVS stores in different States and the applicable limitations.

State Permitted alcohol sale hours Additional Limitations
Arizona 6 am – 2 am None
California 6 am – 1 pm None
Colorado 8 am – 12 am None
Connecticut 8 am – 10 am Until 6 pm on Sundays
Delaware 9 am – 1 am 12 pm – 8 pm on Sunday
District of Columbia 9 am – 12 am None
Florida 7 am – 12 am Alcohol limits of 32 ounces
Georgia Varies by county Most counties start at noon
Idaho 6 am – 1 am None
Illinois Varies by city None
Indiana 7 am – 3 am 12 pm – 8 pm on Sundays

Grocery stores are not allowed to sell beer

Kansas 9 am – 11 pm Alcohol sales start at noon on Sundays
Kentucky 6 am – 2 am 1 pm – 2 am on Sundays
Louisiana 12 am – 2 am Various counties have different restrictions for Sundays
Maine 6 am – 1 am 9 am – 1 am on Sundays
Maryland Varies by county Garret and Baltimore counties don’t permit alcohol sales on Sundays
Massachusetts 8 am – 11 pm 10 am – 11 pm on Sundays
Michigan 7 am – 2 am 12 pm – 2 am on Sundays
Missouri 6 am – 1 am 9 am – 12 am on Sundays
Nevada Open for 24 hours None
New Hampshire 6 am – 11.45 pm None
New Jersey 9 am  – 10 pm Sale of alcohol restricted in various cities on Sundays. No sale in dry counties
New York 8 am – 12 pm. Beer sold for 24 hours 12 pm – 9 pm on Sundays
North Carolina 9 am – 9 pm 12 pm – 9 pm on Sundays
Ohio 5:30 am – 1 am None
Oklahoma 10 am – 9 pm No alcohol sales on Sundays
Oregon 7 am – 2:30 am None
Pennsylvania 9 am – 10 pm 11 am – 7 pm on Sundays
Rhode Island 9 am – 10 pm 10 am – 6 pm on Sundays
South Carolina 9 am – 7 pm Various restrictions on Sundays
Tennessee 8 am – 11 pm No sale of alcohol on Sundays and Thanksgiving Day
Texas 7 am – 12 am 12 pm – 12 am on Sundays

Different counties have various laws

Utah 11 am – 10 pm CVS stores have limited alcohol sales, especially on Sundays
Vermont 6 am – 12 am 8 am – 10 pm on Sundays
Virginia 6 am – 12 am None
Washington 6 am – 2 am None
West Virginia 7 am – 2 am for beer and wine; 8 am – 12 am for liquor Beer sold from 1 pm – 2 am on Sundays
Wisconsin 6 am – 9 pm for liquor; 6 am – 12 am for alcohol and wine None

What Kinds Of Alcohol Does CVS Sell?

You can buy various types of wines and alcohol brands in most CVS stores. For example, CVS sells Vodkas like Smirnoff and Skyy. You can also get whiskey, gin, Tequila, and more from top brands like Bacardi, Rosebrook, Jack Daniels, and Absolute.

Is It Worth Buying Alcohol At CVS?

If you are looking for alcohol variety, you may want to consider buying at CVS stores. The retailer sells various types of wines, spirits, vodkas, and more from top brands and competitive prices. In addition, customers have reported that you can get cashback when buying alcohol at CVS through the Ibotta app.

Can You Return Alcohol To CVS?

Unfortunately, CVS’s return policy does not give clear guidelines on alcohol returns or exchanges. However, since each CVS store follows the rules set by the state, you may be unable to make alcohol returns, especially in states that restrict them.

If you want to return alcohol to CVS, the best thing is to first call your nearest store to know whether they accept such returns. If they do, you may return the items with the original receipt provided that they are unopened and within 60 days of purchase.


Are there age restrictions in buying alcohol at CVS?

Yes. You must be at least 21 years and above to purchase alcohol.

Does CVS sell alcohol wipes?

Yes. You can buy alcohol wipes in-store or online at CVS.

Does CVS sell alcohol test strips?

Yes. CVS sells various types of alcohol and drug test strips.

Do you need a liquor license to buy alcohol at CVS?

No. You only need to be at least 21 years old.

Does CVS sell alcohol on Christmas?

Most CVS stores sell alcohol according to the laws set by their respective states. Therefore, you may find that some stores sell while others don’t.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.