Don’t Believe The Hype! Not All Marshmallows At Trader Joe’s Are Vegan

Vegans, we’ve got your back.

I couldn’t help but notice recently that there’s quite a bit of inaccurate information online claiming that the marshmallows sold at Trader Joe’s are all vegan. Unfortunately, this is not true. So, I decided to clear up the confusion and finally set the record straight on what exactly to expect from the marshmallows sold at Trader Joe’s. 

In this article, I’ll also clear up some rumors that have been circulating recently claiming that Trader Joe’s no longer sells marshmallows (spoiler alert: this isn’t true either).

Peanut Butter Cocoa Marshmallows at Trader Joe’s

Types of Marshmallows at Trader Joe’s

First off–yes, Trader Joe’s still sells marshmallows in 2023. However, several of their marshmallow offerings are seasonal, which would explain why some shoppers have struggled to find them in stores in recent months.

As far as I can tell, TJ’s sells five different types of marshmallows…

  • Trader Joe’s Marshmallows (vegan)
  • Trader Joe’s Mini Marshmallows (vegan)
  • Trader Joe’s Peppermint Mini Marshmallows (vegan)
  • Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Covered Marshmallows (vegetarian)
  • Trader Joe’s Peanut Butter Cocoa Marshmallows (NOT vegan/vegetarian)

As you can see, only three out of the five marshmallow varieties sold at Trader Joe’s are actually vegan.

Unfortunately, Trader Joe’s only sells their bags of standard jumbo marshmallows for a few months during the summer, assuming they’ll be used for s’mores. They come in light blue bags that can typically be found in the baking aisle. They’re completely vegan and are typically sold for $2.99 a bag. Look out for them on shelves starting in mid May.

Trader Joe’s Mini Marshmallows (which are vegan, gluten free, and pareve) are also a seasonal product, available only in the late fall and winter around the holidays. TJ’s also sells Peppermint Mini Marshmallows during the same season, which are gluten free, kosher, and vegan.

Trader Joe’s Peanut Butter Cocoa Marshmallows are listed as a limited product on their website. However, I was able to find them at my local store, and I’ve seen reports of them being available over the past year. So, it’s possible they’re transitioning into a year-round product. They’re currently available for $3.99 for a 7-oz bag. Unfortunately, they are not vegan, although they’re vegetarian (they contain milk). They also contain soy, peanuts, and gluten.

Peanut Butter Cocoa Marshmallows at Trader Joe’s

At my local TJ’s, I also found these Dark Chocolate Covered Marshmallows for $3.79 a box…

Marshmallows at Trader Joe’s

Unfortunately (as I will discuss in more detail below), these marshmallows are definitely not vegan, as they contain gelatin.

Why Do People Think TJ’s Marshmallows Are Vegan?

Back when Trader Joe’s first released their standard vegan marshmallows and mini marshmallows, there may have been a brief time when all of the marshmallows available at Trader Joe’s were vegan. So, this is likely when people first got the idea that Trader Joe’s is a reliable source for vegan marshmallows.

However, in recent years, Trader Joe’s has released several new varieties of marshmallows which contain dairy products and/or gelatin, making them unsuitable for anyone sticking to a vegan or vegetarian diet. This is why it’s important not to assume that the marshmallows you buy from TJ’s are vegan.

To review, the Peanut Butter Cocoa Marshmallows at TJ’s contain milk. So, while they are vegetarian, they definitely are not vegan. The Dark Chocolate Covered Marshmallows discussed above are produced with gelatin, which is an animal product, making them unsuitable for vegetarians or vegans.

So, if you’re vegan, stick to the classic blue bags of Trader Joe’s Marshmallows (available in the summer) or the small pink bags of Trader Joe’s Mini Marshmallows (available in the fall and winter). Unfortunately, this means that Trader Joe’s is not a reliable source for vegan marshmallows all year round.

If you’re in need of a vegan marshmallow fix at any other time of the year, you can buy Dandies Vegan Marshmallows at most major grocery stores in the US, UK, and Canada.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.